What is your “anything”?

I’m so glad I came across this video of Kate Bornstein speaking at the 40th reunion of Brown University. I love Kate. She is REAL and HONEST. In this video she says “Please do anything it takes to make your life more worth living” and the only rule you should follow is “don’t be mean”.  Simple right?

I’ve heard several versions of this advise, most notably “What would you do if you knew you could not fail”. But Kate’s version resonates with me on a deeper level. Unlike so many other authors and speakers, Kate doesn’t tip toe around the fact that life can suck, that you may get in trouble for following your desires, that enlightenment isn’t a finish line and if you have suicidal thought’s they may come back. She doesn’t give you a positive message and then leave you to struggle with the aftermath.

So when Kate says, “Please do anything it takes to make your life more worth living”, she stresses ANYTHING. When I heard this I felt like a kid, wide-eyed with excitement and thinking “Anything?!?” as if she was giving me permission. So this prompted me to ask myself, “What is my anything?”

I ask you, “What is your anything?”

For more on Kate visit: http://katebornstein.typepad.com/kate_bornsteins_blog/

A list of Kate’s books: http://www.alibris.com/booksearch?wauth=Kate+Bornstein&siteID=eQIi2m6KrtU-O9eBcFTWMXTLRNqP3g7Iog

Leave a Reply

