Annoying as it is

I was all ready to write-up a piece about going to the gym and how pushing through the discomfort is necessary for progress just like being with the discomfort of the mind is necessary for growth, but then my family pissed me off. Then I realized that this was a moment to practice what I preach because almost nothing is as uncomfortable as my family.

I had a great weekend of awareness and was feeling pretty good. I was a bit surprised at how good I was feeling because I don’t think I have felt this good in over a year. Saturday was full of awareness. Sunday was spending time with a friend and having great conversation followed by meditation at the sangha and ending with a dharma talk. This morning I was at the gym and pushing myself to be with the discomfort of my routine rather than taking the easy way out. When I got home I was cooking up lunch when my sister (who is taking care of my dog) came over.

I almost feel like I don’t need to go into the details, so the bottom line is, I hate being around my family. I have major judgments about them and I’m not quite sure what to do with that.

It never fails though, just when I feel some sort of growth something comes along that pushes me back. That is the nature of things I suppose. Annoying as it is.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meli-Mel!
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 12:35:19

    Use your Jedi Suspension Powers and turn away from the dark side…The Force is within you. Peace. I think I just channeled Yoda.

    Reply

    • Ahimsa
      Feb 21, 2011 @ 12:45:25

      Thank you for reminding me! I also was remembering what you said yesterday and was repeating to myself “It’s not my business”.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

