Anger

I just saw this and had to enter a post about it.

“Usually when people are sad, they don’t do anything. They just cry over their condition. But when they get angry, they bring about a change.”
– Malcolm X, Malcolm X Speaks, 1965

My therapist noticed today that I was able to feel and express my anger. I had noticed it as well as I was steeped in it this weekend. I know anger gets a bad rap, but like all emotions it is neither good or bad (all emotions have a light and shadow side), but it is a matter of how we use it. In this case, she noted that my anger regarding M allowed me to claim my space and take action.

I guess it’s easy for most people to read that quote as “don’t be sad, be angry”, but what I hear from it is, “Be sad, it’s normal and a part of the process. A space where you are conserving energy and like the winter conserves its resources for spring. Then allow anger to rise from you sadness to nourish you with energy to create change.” No doubt I was in depression before, and definitely conserving energy by sleeping a lot and not engaging as much in ACA work. But at this point, I feel like my anger comes from a place of me standing up for me. And I can somehow be angry from a place of compassion.

Some things never ceases to amaze me.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 19:59:29

    YES!! Kudos to you girlie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

