Some Good News

This fourth of July weekend was long and I slept, A LOT! I did about 1/3 of what I wanted/needed to do, but whatever. It was nice to have 4 days off.

Strangest thing happened though.

I called SSI because I got a letter from them saying that (gasp) I still have benefits. What? Per our conversation in May, they told me that I went back to work too soon and therefore 1) I no longer had benefits and 2) I owed them 9 months worth of benefits pay. So when I got this letter, I was more than confused and gave them a call.

Turns out I’m still eligible for benefits pay for the next 3 years as long as I make under $1,000 a month. Oh, and I don’t owe them back pay. I had to ask her several times to make sure this was, in fact, the case. I was so elated that I still have this resource since my job is killing my soul and I still can’t do what my job description asks of me. The past couple of months have been excruciating as I can feel a tension from my boss every time my doctor renews my restrictions. At some point they will ask me to do full duties and it’s good to know that when that time comes, I will have SSI to help me out. It’ll be financially tough, but I can prepare for it in the meantime.

Leave a Reply

