As an Observer

Being a witness or observer to my life rather than consumed or overwhelmed by it is a skill that I have been learning for the past 17 months. When you operate from the observer/witness self, there is more room for learning and compassion and you don’t get tangled in the emotions of what ever is happening. Today at Derby Boot Camp I experienced such a thing.

I walked into the warehouse with enough time to gear up, but alas, no mouth guard was to be found in my bag. If we don’t have all our gear on, we can’t participate. Shit. All I could think was “I just spent a day where I woke up early, and drove home to change, to try to be on time, for nothing”.

So I decided that while I was there I was going to be as engaged as possible. I stretched, did planks, squats, and watched and mimicked the footwork of the skills being taught. At the 25 (laps) in 5 (minutes) I ran the inside track as much as I could and took notes as we learned how to skate in a pack, the one leg snow plow stop, and c cut.

Our coach was a bit harsher today with us as she really wants us to understand that we are, in fact, in team. By harsher I mean, we had to do push ups due to people who showed up late or if the team did not do what was asked during a drill/skill. What was made clear to me was that she was teaching us that although we are there for individual reasons, we are also there for each other. We need to motivate each other, problem solve with each other, and do what ever it takes to bring people up to their best potential.

After seeing our team from more of an observer position, I began to feel really stoked. What an inspirational group of women! We rock!

I could see that, although my progress may be in small increments, I should acknowledge them for what they are instead of comparing myself to where others are at. I learned from one of our coaches that I could actually set my own goals for each session based on where I am at now and where I can realistically be by the end of 2 hours. I was suddenly so inspired to put more energy and time into my practice. I scoped out a few outdoor locations for practice and I think I’m going to take my skates to work and practice during my lunch hour.

Leave a Reply

