Emotional Hoarding

I was reminded that in order for me to allow any new things to come into my life I really have to let go of and get rid of some things. Not just clearing out space by getting rid of material things, I also need let go of old stories, resentments, and false self/limiting beliefs.

Up to this point, my energy has been very scattered. I feel like my basic needs are unstable (work, money, housing) and I don’t have a plan for my future. I worry a lot about where I’m going to live, where I’m going to work, will I have enough money by the end of the month?

If it isn’t those basic needs I’m preoccupied with, I’m worried about my family. It hurts to see how we interact and how guilt and rage is used to control each other.

Additionally, I harbor some deep resentments that flare up when I’m stressed. These resentments are against old friends, co-workers, roommates, partners, and, of course, family members. During this time I feel so overwhelmed with sadness and anger and it’s hard to stop and calm down.

This week, I was talking with a  friend of mine who is an ayurvedic practitioner. She was telling me how unreleased emotional energy produces illness in the body. It was then that I realized that when I hold onto resentments and worry, I’m doing the equivalent of emotional hoarding.

I absolutely cannot stand hoarding. It makes me physically uncomfortable, so when I realized this, I felt a greater pull to do more conscious work around acknowledging and releasing resentments and worry.

Not only do I want to do this for my own health, I want to do this to make room for new feelings, perceptions, and opportunities.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mountainmae
    May 02, 2012 @ 20:32:08

    Holding on to resentments / worry is like emotional hoarding. I have read many books on the subject. That is one of the best explanations I have ever heard.

    Reply

    • Ahimsa
      May 15, 2012 @ 19:45:06

      Awww, thank you! Whenever I get insights like this, it’s usually when I’m processing with my therapist or observing nature. Thanks again for the compliment 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

