Animal Messengers

Out of the corner of my eye I could see some movement. I turned to look out the window and could see a hawk standing about 25 feet away from me. He was in the field and appeared to be wrestling with something. “Oh, don’t let it be  a rabbit. ” I thought (there are lots of rabbits in the area).

He was there longer than I expected and my heart was racing. He was so close and I could see his huge eyes and the overlapping of the brown, white, and grey feathers on his head. When he lifted off, there was no mistaking that there was a large snake in his talons. As he flew away I could see the shiny white underbelly of the snake.

He flew to a nearby tree, but there must have been some disturbance there because soon after, he flew back towards me. As he got close to the building he took a sharp left and flew up and out of my sight.

In many cultures, animals are seen as messengers, ancestors, or as a symbolic representation of various aspects. I liken it to unexpectedly seeing an old friend. After spending time with a friend I usually walk away knowing and feeling something different than before. Sometimes I don’t even have to spend time with them. I can be in a crowed place and see them from a far and be reminded of something.

A beautiful friend of mine does just that for me. Wether I see him or talk with him, I am always given a gift of knowledge, love, and acceptance. This is how I view animals as well.

When I looked up the symbol of these two creatures, this is what I found:

Hawk Spirit Symbols: Awareness, Perspective, Insight, Truth, Visionary Power, Guardianship, Strength, Initiative, Decisiveness, Creativity, Messenger, Caution, Maneuvering, Leadership. (http://alltotems.com/hawk-spirit-meaning-symbols-and-totem/)

Snake Spirit Symbols: Coiled within this polarity, we clearly see symbolism of duality and the search for balance. Other snake symbolic meaning includes: Cycles, Rebirth, Patience, Fertility, Eternity, Balance, Cunning, Intuition, Awareness, Healing, Intellect, Protection, Solemnity, Rejuvenation, Transformation, Occult (hidden) Knowledge, Male/Female, Yin-Yang, Duality. (http://nativeamericanencyclopedia.com/snake-symbolic-meaning/)

Leave a Reply

