None of Your Business

As I drove to see my brother, I was listening to Iyanla Vanzant’s podcast titled “Moving Through Grief”. In this podcast she is joined by Robert Pruitt in talking with various callers about their grieving processes. I found many of the caller’s situations to be familiar, but there was one thing that Iyanla shared that hit me to the core.

She briefly mentioned dealing with the death of her young daughter and explained how she was so angry with God for taking her. In the midst of one of her tantrums with God, she clearly heard God say to her, “Your daughter’s life is none of your business.”

Got it.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. camistar
    May 02, 2012 @ 20:14:03

    I love Iyanla. She has taught me so many lessons!!

    Reply

  2. southernhon
    May 03, 2012 @ 04:55:40

    That’s an interesting perspective, but in all honesty, I think it’s OK to be angry and sad when we are faced with a situation that seems inexplicable. When we work through the stages of grief, anger is one of those that we need to experience in order to get to the acceptance phase.

    Reply

    • Ahimsa
      May 15, 2012 @ 19:50:23

      Ah yes. Thanks for the observation. I didn’t mean to imply that it isn’t okay to feel anger or sadness (or any other emotion). I believe there is room for both and all. Hearing that statement “Her life is none of your business” settled in me any false perception of control and helped put my ego in check. It actually created more space to feel the range of emotions that grieving brings with it. If it’s okay with you, can I point out this observation that made in a new post?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

