Trusting Intuition

I’ve been looking at apartments for a while now, and it’s a frustrating experience. Rent here is high, and what is available is so tiny. 200 sq ft with a toaster over and hot plate for $850 a month? Uhm, no thanks.

But every once in a while I come across a few really good options. In those cases the competition is high. So long story short, I was accepted to sign a lease for one of these units. Then I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. There were a lot of pros and one cos, but the con was significant enough for me to not feel comfortable about signing the lease.

It was difficult to trust my intuition (gut feeling). I kept thinking that I should take it because the chances of coming across another place that I will qualify for are severely limited. But I knew that if I took it I would be forcing myself to make it work and want to move again.

Intuition is a hard thing to trust for someone like me. Trust alone is difficult for me. It’s hard for me to tease apart fear and intuition. I doubt myself and don’t trust my decision-making. My inner critic/critical parent makes every option wrong. So telling my critical parent to step outside while I relax into being okay with my decisions is very new for me.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mountainmae
    May 27, 2012 @ 19:58:45

    Best of luck on your challenge of finding the “right” living space and trusting your ability to know it feels right.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: The Power of “Maybe” « the lotus experience

Leave a Reply

