The Will to Meaning: Viktor Frankl

In class this week we watched this short video. When it was over I could feel a surge inside me that usually happens when I am really excited and inspired by something or someone. Since that night, I have been reading and listening to everything I can about Viktor Frankl. I truly feel like his perspectives and methods embody so much of what I have learned about self-discovery and healing in these past 2-3 years.

As I was watching this video, I asked myself “In my deepest depression, what meaning did I have to hold onto?” Despite thinking and feeling that I had nothing to live for, there was a deep yearning in me to heal from the torment of depression and suicidal ideation.

The example given in the video of Heath losing his job reminded me of what triggered my breakdown/breakthrough. So I asked myself “What began to give me hope or meaning? What shook up my being “stuck”?” And like Heath, it was widening my circle of meaning through re-connecting with creativity and being in my Prosperity Pioneers program.

In late 2009 I began the year-long “Prosperity Pioneers” program which taught me many things, including what it means to integrate and live in balance with the shadow aspect of myself. It was here that I also began to understand what a higher power means to me and how to understand that possibility is everywhere.

In the summer of 2011 I enrolled in a “Fearless Painting” workshop and, challenging as it was, it reconnected me with the feeling I once had of inspiration. Inspiration is a living movement in itself, so this was where I began to feel some sense of being “unstuck”.

This video is very short, but for myself, is very comforting and inspirational. In all my years of studying Psychology, I don’t know why I haven’t heard more about Viktor Frankl or Logotherapy. His work is pivotal I believe he deserves to have a more visible place in the academic world of psychology.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Daniel Jordan
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 18:39:18

    Too bad you missed the INPM Conference in Toronto 2 weeks ago. We watched the film, Viktor and I, produced by his grandson. There were also numerous presenters on logotherapy. For more information on Viktor Frankl visit http://www.meaning.ca .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

