Change and Agency

I am not a big fan of New Year’s Eve celebrations. I rarely have plans and the holiday just exacerbates my feelings of loneliness. Despite the significant growth I’ve experienced in 2012, I’m feeling pretty blue today. I have no desire to make resolutions, or goals, or see this day 1 as an opportunity for a new start.

I suppose after last year, I can’t help but feel like no matter what I intend, life will do what it will. I believe in being flexible to life’s ever changing circumstances, but I have yet to understand where I come into place with the whole thing? Do I ever have a say in what I want if life is going to constantly change anyway?

Bueller? Bueller?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fiercely Yours
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 11:30:43

    I think we have a say– we can create change and open opportunities or we can let change creep up on us and be stuck with less directions to go. Today is just another day in my mind– just be and keep writing.

    Reply

  2. Sharon
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 15:50:19

    I know how you feel. I’ve lived almost 60 years. I know there will be good times and bad. Sometimes you just gotta put one foot in front of the other and get on with it.Take joy in the little things, enjoy nature. Send your prayer and meditations out into the universe. Each human prayer is important to those who are suffering. Your prayers are needed as are mine. Maybe this is why we were put on this Earth.

    Reply

    • Ahimsa
      Jan 04, 2013 @ 06:13:28

      Yes, nature holds the answers to all of life’s existential problems. Its taken a while to put the “put on foot in front of the other” lesson into practice, so better later than never. Thanks for your comment and happy new year 🙂

      Reply

  3. Day Today Dating
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 15:08:56

    Stay positive and surround yourself with loved ones.

    – K.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

